Ngaoara Logo



After completing his schooling in the Hunter Valley, NSW Peter obtained an apprenticeship as a fitter machinist. This would see him working underground in a coal mine as a mine mechanic.

As a result of sustaining an injury Peter embarked on a matriculation course at the University of Newcastle, NSW. This matriculation course paved the way for him to study psychology and biology with a view to becoming a clinical psychologist, however prior to completing the course he was accepted into the Bachelor of Medicine at the University of Newcastle. In 1998 he completed his degree and qualified as a doctor. After moving to Mackay, QLD Peter completed his internship and began a career in rural general practice experiencing critical care, emergency medicine and retrieval at Tamworth Base Hospital NSW. In 2003 he qualified as a Fellow of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and obtained a Fellowship in Advanced Rural General Practice and a Graduate Diploma in Rural General Practice.

Peter has served on many national and government committees including having been the President of the Australian Indigenous Doctors Association. He has received several awards including 2010 Recipient of the Deadly Award for Outstanding Achievement in Indigenous Health (individual), 2012 Inductee into WACE International Hall of Fame and 2013 Leaders of Indigenous Medical Education (LIME) Award for Outstanding Leadership in Indigenous Health.

Peter’s clinical positions have been largely in rural and Aboriginal health. His current positions are Associate Professor of Indigenous Medical Education, Head of Discipline Indigenous Health, University of Newcastle NSW, Director of the Wollotuka Institute at the University of Newcastle, NSW. Peter has recently taken on a new position as a Regional Medical Superintendent; this involves giving clinical governance advice, medical advice, and advice regarding training as well as being a medical and cultural mentor for several Aboriginal Medical Services in Eastern NSW. Peter has also been appointed Chair of the RACGP National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Faculty Board Education Committee.